Skip to content

Recipe – Irish Soda Bread

March 19, 2012
Irish soda bread, cloudberry jam

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A fantastic recipe from a dear friend of mine and great home cook, Marnie. I added a Swedish touch with the lingonberry jam and cloudberry jam which was hand picked and made by my girlfriend’s Auntie over here.

I made a quarter of the recipe and it was enough for 8 slices

Recipe

  • 1kg organic white flour
  • 5g sodium bicarbonate
  • 7g salt
  • 15g sugar, castor or granulated
  • 60g melted butter
  • 450g buttermilk (To make your own, take 430g milk, 20g white wine vinegar, mix and leave to stand for 5 mins)
  • 1 large egg
  • 5g grated orange or lemon zest (I used lemon in this recipe)
  • 250g dried currants, saltanas or raisins (I used raisins in this recipe)
  • A touch of flour to coat the raisins so they don’t clog up in the wet mix

Method

  • Pre heat oven to 375f/190c
  • Sift flour, bi carb, salt, sugar together
  • Add the melted butter and zest and mix well
  • Beat the egg and mix with the buttermilk
  • Add to the flour mix and bring the ingredients together with a wooden spoon or similar
  • Add the currants/raisins
  • Turn the mix onto a floured surface
  • Knead into a ball
  • Make a cross incision on the top
  • Bake on a baking sheet for approx 50 mins
  • Should be hollow when tapped
  • Leave to stand for 5-10 mins before slicing

Enjoy!!

From → Recipes

11 Comments
  1. The only ingredient that seems to differ from the one I made is the Sodium bicarbonate but the texture of yours looks incredibly different! How strange- maybe you just have the special chefs touch! Looks great :) I looove soda bread ^^ Happy to see it here

    • Aww thanks Megalagom! lucky touch I call it though as it was the first time I’d made it :) I saw yours and it looked good too, more rough in texture and perhaps that could be with length of time the dough was kneaded? I kneaded mine for approx 7 mins until it was smooth. As long as it tastes good that’s what counts! :)

  2. it’s so nice to see different recipes! I’ve never heard of this bread but it looks so yummy!!!!!

  3. Hello, You have inspired me a lot. So, I have nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award. You can see your nomination here and get an idea of the rules. :)

    http://cookingwithmamamiyuki.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/the-sunshine-award-on-my-100-posts/

    • Thank you so much for the nomination, I’m truly honoured. I am very busy with other things at present, but if it’s ok would like to look at this in the next week at some point. All the best, Gavin

  4. I make Irish soda bread every year in March I must say yours is looking really good!

    • Many thanks bakergirl05! It was a first attempt back then, not made it since so could be about time to dust off the recipe again :)

  5. Thank you kindly for the compliments to my blog ! :)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Sunshine Award on my 100 Posts ! | Mama Miyuki Easy Pantsy

You are invited to comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

