Skip to content

Gallery and recipes – Home made pizza

January 31, 2012

As I’ve chosen to take a year out of employment to raise our first child (due any day now..) having plenty of free-time on my hands I’ve been able to do lots of home cooked food to “keep my hand in” the kitchen and also my “Cheffy” instincts for costings and budgeting has kicked into gear at home as well as it did for work.. what better than a home-made pizza for the fraction of the cost of a pizzeria (and tastes better! ) using organic ingredients, recipes that have been used in various fine dining establishments I’ve worked in and putting them to good use on a humble pizza?

I’ve posted a few recipes for various elements of the pizza I made in the following links:

  • Pizza base (for 2-4 ptns, use 1/2 this recipe) I used this as a base, then turned it into a stuffed crust base as shown in the pictures below:

Roll out dough to 3mm thick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Add cut cheese of your choice (I used cheddar) to form a frame/border approx 20mm from the edges

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fold over the dough and seal down the edges well so no cheese will escape during cooking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other toppings I used:

  • Sliced buffalo mozzarella
  • Pan fried falukorv (Local Swedish sausage to where I live) and kebanos sausage

Cook at 225c/435f/Gas mark 8 for approx 18 mins. This measured approx 600mm in length

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Same Pizza, different day!

 

 

Chef’s tips

  • Do make sure your oven is as hot as it can get… this along with a thinly rolled pizza dough base is vital to ensure a crisp crust is achieved. I slide the pizza from the tray onto the shelving to expose the base to the direct heat after 10 mins which does the trick for me
  • As tempting as this maybe, don’t overcrowd your pizza with too many toppings or too much sauce… it will only result in a soggy pizza that will droop when you pick it up and that yummy filling will only head in one direction.. off the edge of the pizza!
  • Once the pizza is assembled but before baking, it can hold for up to 12 hours or so in the fridge as the yeast in the dough will “go to sleep”.. basically the yeast growth at the temp of your fridge approx 5-8c is dramatically slowed down (peak growth is around 20-25c) so the risk of your dough “over-proving” is well reduced if still baked within this window of time
  • Do experiment with various toppings.. I’ve known fruit toppings for  a dessert as well as foie gras or lobster in fine dining restaurants as part of a tasting menu so enjoy the  creativity basically!

The cost

  • Per portion this cost me 20 Swedish krona or approx £2 to make.  Maybe not the cheapest meal in the house but in comparison to buying a take away one, well worth it in my opinion.  To cut the cost even more, you can of course remove the meat element and change the cheese topping to a cheaper cheese or even instead of making your own tomato sauce you can crack open a tin of tomatoes, season them with salt and pepper and spread that on instead.

 

Happy cooking all! thanks for reading my post 🙂

 

"herdy gurdy.. herdy gurdy..!"

From → Gallery, Recipes

6 Comments
  1. well done English chef! 😉

  2. This is great! I have been thinking about trying to make pizza- I’ve read that its necessary to have a pizza stone to evenly distribute the heat and cook the pizza the correct way- is that true?

    • you can of course but it’s not necessary, I get a nice crisp base following the method in the post here but I guess practice and see what you prefer.

      thanks for your comment 🙂

  3. We make our own pizza every other Friday night (tomorrow night in fact!). I use the pizza base recipe from The Silver Spoon and double it to make one large pizza. I like the idea of putting the cheese in the crust edge and may have to try that. I do use a pizza stone and it comes out perfect. We kind of have an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink pizza; lots of different toppings: pepperoni, chorizo, shallots, garlic, chili peppers, mushrooms, anchovies, spinach and of course sauce and cheese.

    • thanks for your comment terriskitchenuk, hope you enjoyed your pizza, did you try out the stuffed crust too?

You are invited to comment

