Skip to content

Recipe – “Semla”

February 22, 2012

Semlor Ready to eat whilst still warm!

So whilst everyone and their dog, cat and pet mouse were busy celebrating Pancake day back in the UK yesterday , I did manage to whip up a batch of pancake batter to indulge in my childhood favourite with lemon juice and sugar but they took 2nd stage to a Swedish tradition for lent, “Semla” or “Semlor ” (singular and plural respectively) which I decided, albeit a bit last minute to make for my partner and me.

I found the recipe on google here and it was easy to follow, although the proving took much longer in my kitchen.  I made half the recipe which gave me 8 buns. The mix was a little dry and thus difficult to form into smooth, even shaped balls. I only used 300g of flour as opposed to 375g from the recipe and I think I could of cut back a few grams more but none the less, the results were very pleasing and most importantly they got the thumbs up or “tummen upp” as is known in Swedish from my girlfriend!

The semlor can traditionally be eaten submerged in warm milk but we ate them doughnut style just out of our hands, after first of all removing the “hat” so as to avoid things getting too messy.

Recipe for the bun

  • 37g butter
  • 125g milk
  • 12.5g fresh yeast
  • pinch of salt _ I used 3 grams
  • 5 tea spoons / 50g castor or granulated sugar
  • 300g flour (375g in original recipe but as stated earlier, mine came out dry so next time I am going to try 275g)
  • 3g ground cardamom

Recipe for the Filling

  • 100g almond paste
  • 65g milk
  • Crumbs from hollowing out the bun
  • 180g cream – whipped

Method

  • Take milk and butter to blood heat and completely dissolve the yeast
  • Add salt, sugar, flour and cardamom and work into a smooth dough
  • Cover and leave to prove until double the size
  • Pre heat oven to 440f/225c/gas mark 7.5
  • Roll dough into balls, then cover and prove until double in size
  • Bake for 10 mins, then leave to cool
  • Cut off hats, then hollow out the bun
  • to make the filling, crumb the bun dough you just hollowed out and mix with the almond paste and 65g of milk
  • Spoon into the hollow bun, then add the whipped cream on top of that
  • Replace the Hat and dust with icing sugar
  • Enjoy!

Happy cooking all, thanks for reading 🙂

From → Recipes

6 Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing! They look delicious!

  2. They look wonderful! I haven’t yet had any homemade semla, maybe I will try this one day (or next year!) Did you eat all of those!? I was so full with Semlor yesterday but now I am craving again, which is bad for our new salad diet.

    • lol nooooo we have 2 left to eat this evening… :)) Im glad they are only once a yer too for the diet but I read I think in your friends post about semlor they are more often eaten all year round now, yikes!

  3. Ooh they look absolutely yummy!!!!

You are invited to comment

