Skip to content

Wild yeast recipe

March 1, 2012

She's alive...!!

Loving the taste of a good sourdough or any bread made for that matter with wild yeast,  I decided to make my own wild yeast at home and see how long I can keep it going. Professionally I’ve played around a bit half -heartedly in previous years with them but never really gained a full understanding about them as I didn’t have the desire enough to really get into them until now. Wild yeasts are known in many kitchens as the beast, the bitch, the mother, the starter, whatever name you like to call it, they are a great asset to any kitchen, professional or at home and can last through generations if you really want to keep them going and gaining character as they grow. (Maybe I’ll pass it down to Nova one day for her to continue? ;))

So I was wondering shall I write a scientific, detailed post full of research here on wild yeasts as for those interested it is a fascinating subject but with little spare time to do so I’ll keep it simple and just mention that there are many great bread books/internet sites out there to give this kind of info and I took alot of knowledge from my trusty copy of Dan Lepard’s Baking with passion book and other bits of internet reading, plus chatting with a great Chef mate of mine about wild yeasts, I finally started my own.

Recipe

I took approx 200g organic white flour, water to mix and about 30g organic syrup, mixed it all together to a  sloppy risotto/thick batter like consistency and left it for 5 days at room temp to grow.. I fed it each morning with approx 50g organic white flour  and water to keep the yeast growth and consistency going and throwing some of the wild yeast away when it grew too big, or flooded the work surface and made a bee line for the front door…!

I make fresh bread approx once a week then freeze it and in the meantime I’ll keep the Mother in the fridge where she will sleep til it’s time to come out again.. 🙂

Will post the first bread I made with it last night shortly..

There, there pet..

Feed the Mother...

Ready for bed..

Happy baking all! 🙂

From → Recipes

9 Comments
  1. Chef, I need your advice. Everytime I try to make bread it always fails, most of the time it did bloom the dough. What are the factor, could it be that my yeast are dead because I left it in the open for too long or did i pour water too hot. What am I missing? 😦

    • Hi mama, of course Im happy to help where I can.

      There are many factors that account for a good bread and I’ll give you a few basic pointers but feel free to share your recipe and method that you are using, along with water and oven temps and I can give you my opinion.

      Ok so as for the tips..

      1) use the best quality flour you can find. Non organic is ok but especially for sour doughs try and stick to organic as the chemicals in the flour can act against your wild yeast and the natural fermentation resulting in a lesser risen bread.
      2)Ensure you use the right kind of yeast as per your recipe. sounds obvious but its also a common mistake to think that dried has the same effect as fresh. Basically for fresh yeast, use double you would for dried
      3) When adding your water to your yeast, aim for 20-30c max, any higher and the yeast will start to die.
      4) proving the bread- each stage of proving, the bread should be covered and you are looking to achieve double the size of your initial dough. Keep in a warm place to assist the proving or blooming as you call it.
      5) many breads require a minimum of 2 proves as a minimum. first one when you have made your dough, 2nd one after its doubled in size, knock it back, shape it, 2nd prove to double the size again, then bake.
      6)Oven temp – Hot as you can basically.I generally bake bread in my conventional home oven at 225-250c for the first 10 mins, then turn down to 180-200c to finish the bread.
      7)Steam – a splash of water or a small oven proof dish with water placed under the bread in the oven will aid in the bread rising
      8) checking the bread is ready – when you tap on the base it should sound hollow and be firm to press. sometimes depending on the type of bread I will turn the loaf over for the last 5 mins or so to finish the cooking, especially if the top looks like it has darkened too much but the bread needs to finish cooking.

      I Hope that helps!

  2. I’m mad for sourdough right now, my starter Louie has produced some nice bread so far!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Recipe – Organic spelt and sunflower seed bread « Chef-eye's Blog

You are invited to comment

